Today we’d like our members to meet club member Stijn Vanstraelen. Stijn is a big supporter of the Crypto888 Members Club and he’s also very knowledgeable on the subject of network marketing, which is something he’s been involved with for quite a few years.

However, Stijn hasn’t always been in marketing; for much of his early life he was a top sports personality in his home country Belgium, and internationally. He’s kindle agreed to give us an interview and we’re sure you’ll find this guy pretty inspiring!

Tell us about your career before network marketing?

I left school at 18 and got into electro mechanics; I basically started working straight away. However, I was also a very keen cyclist through my teens and I was very good at it, at least good enough to be asked to join a professional cycling team.

In my early 20s I rode with two different teams; RDM- Flanders and then Flanders-Afin. If fellow members want to look they can see some of my race statistics at Cycling Database. But then I decided to stop cycling and concentrate on a business career.

Do you think your cycling career helps you in business?

I think it helps me in both my business and charity work. In business I have the athlete’s mentality, which is that the goal is always to win. I would definitely recommend sports as a great way to train you in building up the ability to persist at everything you do and not give up easily.

I never regret having been a cyclist and it’s a part of my life I’d do again because of what I learnt from it. It also teaches you to work you butt off, which is very useful in business, and as one of my idols Arnold Schwarzenegger said,

“No pain, no gain.”

I totally believe that.

You mentioned charity work. Tell us about that.

I recently visited the Gambia with a team of businessmen and sports personalities brought together by the CEO’s of Crypto888 to look at opportunities to support charitable projects in this lovely country.

Stijn Vanstraelen visits The Gambia
We are involved in a charity here in The Gambia which we visited this summer. It is great to know I can make a difference getting young people more involved in Sports in this country.

It was my first time there and I couldn’t believe how beautiful it was and how warm and smiling everyone the people were. I believe that as somebody who combines sports and business I’m a good role model for young people and I hope I can bring something useful to this project.

So far we’ve built a school and a football academy. It’s a good start but we have many more plans to develop here.

When you’re not working what do you like to do?

I like watching movies – The Wolf of Wall St. is one of my current favourites because I like stories about building something from scratch. I also love going on holiday with my family; we’ve recently been to the Costa Blanca and Marbella because Spain is a favourite place of ours. I also like dining out and I’d have to say that if you take me to an Italian restaurant with great pasta dishes then I’m happy.

Who is your personal hero?

Guess what, it’s a cyclist! I totally admire Lance Armstrong for his persistence in both his sport and in his personal life. The way he bounced back from cancer was amazing and then he went on to create his Foundation that is helping so many people. He gets my vote.

Well, thanks Stijn for giving your time today so that Crypto888 members can learn about you and your involvement with our wonderful Club.

Leave a comment